Of the fourteen *Noongar language groups, the people who live in the Perth region are known as the Whadjuk people. The Canning River is the border between the two Whadjuk
clans, the Bilya (Beeliar) and Beeloo (Beelu) people. The land south of the Swan River and west of the Canning River to the coast is known as Bilya (Beeliar). The land east of the Canning River to the Helena River is Beeloo land. The Youran (bobtail
lizard) is the totem animal for the Bilya people; and the Nyingarn (echidna) is the totem animal for the Beeloo people. The Beeloo people hunted tortoises in the wetlands (Mundy Swamp), carrying them to higher ground in the east for cooking and eating.
During the early days of settlement, Mundy (Munday) (pronounced mun-dee) was one of the most important and successful negotiators for the Whadjuk community. The name can be recognised in Mundy Regional Park and Mundy Swamp, a wetland located against the
north-eastern perimeter fence of Perth airport, south-west of King road and west of the Forrestfield and Kewdale railway yards.
In 1827 the Colonial Botanist Mr Charles Fraser and Captain James Stirling explored the region to evaluate its suitability for farming. Initially the area was used for forestry and orchards; fruit growing continues to be one of the major industries in
the City today. The Townsite of Kalamunda was approved in 1902 and quickly established itself as a tourism destination. Advertised as a ‘health resort’, City folk would travel to Kalamunda to experience nature, fresh air and a change of
climate. This rich heritage now provides a range of historical and cultural attractions for tourists.
*Noongar is the general name for Aboriginal people in the south-west of Western Australia.
LISTEN TO AUDIO STORY
A native reserve at Maamba at the foot of the Darling Scarp was established by Premier John Forrest in 1899 in an effort to care for derelict Aborigines.
It was developed as a small scale agricultural settlement for local Aboriginals. It was in the present-day Forrestfield/Wattle Grove area including what is now Hartfield Park. At the end of 1903, the chief Protector of Aborigines, Henry Prinsep
decided to make this Welshpool Reserve a ration depot. Prinsep insisted all Aboriginal people in the metropolitan area should be moved to the reserve, along with a European caretaker. Despite protests Aboriginals from Guildford,
Perth, Helena Valley, Gingin, Northam, York, Beverley, Busselton and Pinjarra were moved there.
Daisy Bates visited the area in 1905, pitching her tent and talked with the Aborigines over a period of time whilst living there. Prior to the formation of the reserve, the area had been a place where many Aboriginal tracks crossed in the
sandy foothills where travel was easier than in the hills. A “scarred tree” which has now been fenced off in Hartfield Park, is thought to have been used to produce bark which would have been used to create shield and
coolamons (dish-shaped utensils used to carry food or even a baby).
Charles Harrington, a ‘travelling missionary’ arrived in WA in December 1907. At the request of the Chief Protector, Charles Gale, from 1908 to 1909 the Aborigines’ Inland Mission took over the running of Welshpool
(Maamba) Reserve which had been established by the government in 1902.
This artwork illustrates some of the stories about native flora and fauna, as well as the stories of Maamba and Joobaitch.
Joobaitch of the kangaroo tribe of Perth, a Wordungmat or dark-type crowman, had been born in Stirling’s time, and was the son of that Yalgunga who ceded his spring on the banks of the Swan to Lieutenant Irwin. Joobaitch, was, a protege
of Bishop Hale and at one time a native trooper.
Featuring gorgeous original artwork by Aurora Abraham, this series of cards details the six Nyoongar seasons that you'll experience in the south-west of Western Australia.
Listen to Aboriginal Elder, Neville Collard, walk and talk you through the Lesmurdie walk trail. Starting from the top level car park which is located off Falls Road in Kalamunda, Neville highlights local flora and fauna. viewpoints and
other land marks.
The City is divided into four wards or electoral districts.
Our interactive mapping tools permits any property within the City of Kalamunda to be navigated to or found using the address search tool. Information given includes zoning, bin collection dates, councillors, wards, residential codes.
Analyse the population characteristics of your community, understand how they have changed over time and how they compare to other areas. Find out more here
Learn about the fascinating history of the City of Kalamunda.
We respectfully acknowledge the Traditional Owners, the Whadjuk Noongar People as the Custodians of this land. We also pay respect to all Aboriginal community Elders, past, present and future who have and continue to reside in the area and have been an integral part of the history of this region.