This trail route celebrates the previous railway track which combines trails suited for both walking and cycling. Visitors can experience the amazing flora and fauna of the Perth Hills.
Select for more information:
Trail identification marker: Donkey Orchid
Soaring above the canopy you may observe
the Square Tailed Kite, or one of our iconic
endangered Black Cockatoos. Many species
of honey eaters and other birds such as the
Striated Pardalote, Western Gerygone and
Golden and Rufous Whistlers use the canopies
of the forest. On the ground you may be lucky
and see quendas, goannas and echidnas.
At night: shiny eyes reflecting back may
belong to spiders, geckos or frogs. Birds
include the Southern Boobook Owl and the
Tawny Frog Mouth. The more cryptic night
mammals to be observed are the Brush-tailed
Phascogale and the Western Brush Wallaby.
Every Noongar season flowers are blooming:
The trail follows some of the Upper Darling Range Railway, now referred to as the Railway Heritage Trail. This railway was constructed in 1891 to transport timber from Canning Mills to Midland. It was eventually closed in 1949 and the lines removed.
Along this trail you will pass the location of the former Gooseberry Hill Siding, Kalamunda Station, South Kalamunda Siding (Guppy’s Siding), the Walliston Station (1 Mile Siding) and Green’s Landing.
The Northern Terminus of the Bibbulmun Track can be accessed at Mundaring Weir Road.
Gooseberry Hill Siding was the first stopping place above the Zig Zag section on the railway. It was located a little over six track kilometres from what is now Ridge Hill Road at the foot of the escarpment, and is some 140 metres higher. Improvements
in 1905 introduced a low-level platform and a red shelter shed. There was an orange grove downhill from this siding.
Kalamunda Station was originally known as Stirk's Landing and then Jeck's Crossing. The townsite name chosen by local residents in 1901 was Calamunnda. This was changed to Kalamunnda and then to Kalamunda. A high level platform, goods yard and depot were
built after the WAGR took over the line in 1903. The station name remained as Kalamunnda until the line was closed in 1949.
This site was originally known as Guppy’s Siding, and was provided to serve a nearby sawmill. A tramway ran down the hill from this main line, probably along what is now Stanhope Road, for some 500 metres to the mill of Mr Guppy. Following the closure
of the mill in 1917 the siding was renamed South Kalamunda in 1920, and was eventually resited 1066 metres further south in 1938.
Originally known as 12 Mile Siding, then as Wallis’ Landing or Wallis’ Crossing, this site adopted the name Walliston in 1918. It is the highest point on the railway, and was eventually serviced by a low-level platform and shelter shed. Locally
grown produce was transported to the Perth markets from here
The railway passed through a number of small sidings on its way to the timber mills. The remains of Carmel Siding (previously known as Green's Landing) can still be seen. The concrete pit was used by the Sanitarium Weet-Bix Factory for unloading wheat
Please ensure you follow signage and directional instructions provided along the trail.
The walking and running trail is a dual use trail. Cyclists are welcome however please ride slowly and share the space.
The trail is currently divided into four sections, each based on having suitable parking access, thus being places where people will naturally start or finish a trail. Trail Head signs provide reinforcement and detail specifically about that section of
The walking and running trail is made of compacted gravel and is mostly flat with small loose stones from Kalamunda to Grove Road, Lawnbrook to Baden, and Carmel to Glenisla. The Grove to Lawnbrook, Baden to Carmel, and Glenisla to Pickering Brook sections
are rougher and walkers and runners should wear sturdy shoes and watch for tree roots and some rocks.
These sections are listed below and provides more detailed information.
Trail has the following:
The Railway line from Ledger Road to Mundaring Weir Road was to take on a new life through the prolonged efforts of the community over the years, from the efforts of Council to retain the land, and the vision and commitment of the
Friends of Railway Reserve who have been the driving force behind the previous upgrade to the trail facilities.
The upgrade to this section of the trail was undertaken with the support of the City of Kalamunda and Lotterywest. The Trail provides local residents and visitors alike to experience the Kalamunda bushland within walking distance
of the town centre. Crossing paths with the Bibbulmun track it also offers a variety of options for more adventurous recreation pursuits.
To help reduce the spread of Phytophthora Dieback along this walk trail and in
the surrounding area: